This Diet Thing – Day 4 and 5

I have been a bit lax with my writing so I am going to have to combine two days worth of thoughts in this one post.

So far the biggest problems I have had are in selecting and preparing food. You have to constantly avoid the processed stuff, the starch, the wheat and the fats. Finding ingredients is another headache. A lot of recipes call for stuff like almond butter or tofu. I haven’t found tofu in the supermarkets for this entire week, and there is only so much salad I can stand. Getting hungry faster is also an annoying problem. Sri Lankans eat huge quantities of food and I think it takes quite some time to learn to settle for normal sized portions again. Healthy snacks help, but there are only so much nuts one can buy in Sri Lanka.

There are a few things that help make the change the a healthy diet. Fruit helps the craving for sugary food. I also allow myself dark chocolate (as dark as you can get it). This way one doesn’t have to fall into the temptation for chocolate covered cream filled donut. I also have a cheat day, where I can eat anything I want, and that is Saturday. A cheat day will ease cravings and maybe give me motivation for another week.

I haven’t noticed any increase in energy though, no matter what Steve Jobs says. It could be because I have always been a vegetarian anyway, and stay away from caffeine. I haven’t lost significant weight, but there is a bit of difference. Either way, it is not realistic to expect a huge change in just five days.

Am I going to continue this? Probably with a few relaxed rules. I would allow small portions of red rice or brown bread into my diet. What I will continue to try to do is cut down on processed sugar. It really is very damaging to your system. The same goes for all the spice and chilli. Spices tend to irritate your system and I have been enjoying the feeling of cleanness(?) that I have now. Really, all those veggies make you feel a bit sharper and clean inside. I don’t even know if ‘clean’ is the word to use here but you know what I mean if you try it.

Have a good week and hope you try a change to your diet.

Peace!

Leave a Reply

